Vermont Underground Utility Damage Prevention
Vermont law requires individuals (including homeowners) to notify Dig Safe® at least 48 hours before excavation on public and private property, rights of ways and easements.
Before you dig you must:
1. Premark the boundries of your proposed excavation area.
2. Call Dig Safe@ at 811 or 1-888-DIGSAFE (1-888-344-7233) two (2) business days before you begin excavation. Dig Safe@ will notify any member companies with utilities in the area who will then come and mark their lines for you. DIG SAFE@ IS A FREE SERVICE.
3. Notify any non-member utilities such as municial water and sewer systems, or propane operators of your excavation two (2) business days in advance.
The Vermont Public Service Department vigorously enforces the damage prevention laws and could fine you up to $5000.00 for a violation. Please review and understand the laws and rules before you dig yourself into trouble.
These pages have been assembled to provide additional information to help excavators, homeowners, and utility operators avoid damages, protect personal and public safety and achieve the perfect excavation. If you have any questions you can contact the Public Service Department at 802-828-2811 or firstname.lastname@example.org.